We're glad you found
Before we let you in ...
Are you over 21 years old*?
*For Pennsylvania, New York, Maryland and Minnesota you must be 18+Yes No
Wish We Could
Let You In
Please come back and visit when you are old enough!
Ready to get your medical marijuana card? In Maryland it is as easy as visiting your local RISE dispensary. With just a few minutes of your time and the necessary information, you can register for your Maryland medical marijuana card. After your registration is approved you will need to see a certified medical cannabis doctor. After you receive your certification you will be able to safely and legally purchase medical marijuana in Maryland.
Ready to get yours? Great! We’ll take you through each step of the process.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws & Regulations
Back in 2014, Gov. Martin O’Malley signed HB 881, which is the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission legislation. This then created the Natalie M. LaPrade Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission, which is the entity that allows you to get your medical card.
This legislation was meant to regulate legal consumption, cultivation, sale, distribution and possession of medical marijuana in Maryland at that time.
The MMCC’s job is to run the registry for medical marijuana patients and caregivers and ensure that it is dispensed in a safe, legal and effective manner.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland
Getting your Maryland medical marijuana card only takes a few simple steps. In fact, other than a quick visit to a qualified physician, it’s something you can do online.
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in MD
The first thing step to getting your Maryland MMJ card is to register as a medical cannabis patient with the MMCC. To do this, you need to be a Maryland resident, be able to prove it, and have a qualifying condition that your practitioner recommends cannabis for. There’s also a small fee that some may qualify to have waived or receive assistance with.
If you’re under the age of 18 and have a qualifying medical condition and your doctor recommends cannabis for your treatment, you may name two others who are 18 years of age or older to receive medical cannabis cards and act as your caregivers.
Documents necessary for your medical marijuana card in Maryland
When you register with the MMCC for your card, there are some supporting documents you will need.
Remember that the photo needs to be clear, color, and passport quality, so having it professionally taken is recommended.
You can also use any of the following acceptable forms of government I.D. to set up your account with the MMCC:
If your I.D. doesn’t specify Maryland as your home state, you’ll need to submit a proof of a valid Maryland address. This must be in the form of 2-documents that are NOT from the same agency and must include your name and correct Maryland address. [source]
Acceptable documents for proof of residency may include any 2 of the following, which must be dated within the past 90-days:
How long does it take to get a Maryland medical marijuana card?
Once you’ve been approved by the state and received your doctor’s approval, you can then log in immediately and print out your temporary MMCC card.
This will give you legal access to medical marijuana, and while processing times for your permanent MMCC card vary, you may check on its status by logging onto the MMCC website.
How much does it cost to get a medical card in MD?
The fee to process your information and get you set up with your Maryland medical marijuana card is only $50, which is due when you apply.
But if you have a VA card or if you’re under the Maryland Medical Assistance Program, the fee can be waived for you. There may be other financial assistance programs you can apply for based on your income.
Your card is also valid for the next 3-years, assuming you got it after January 1, 2019.
Qualifying Debilitating Medical Conditions
To qualify for a Maryland medical marijuana card, you need a recommendation from a physician for cannabis as a treatment for your condition.
Qualifying conditions can be any of the following:
If you don’t see your condition listed but you have chronic, severe, debilitating symptoms, you can speak to your provider about recommendations. This can be for a chronic medical condition that other treatments have proven ineffective for. If you feel that you may be a qualifying patient and cannabis may help with your symptoms, then you can consult with your doctor.
Can I go to a Dispensary Without a Card in Maryland?
At this time, recreational use of marijuana in Maryland is illegal, and you need a valid MMCC card to purchase cannabis from a qualified medical marijuana dispensary to legally make a purchase.
Remember that despite marijuana being legal for medical use in the state of Maryland, it’s still considered illegal at the federal level. [source]
Where Can I Legally Buy Medical Marijuana in Maryland?
Once you’ve received your card, it’s time to purchase your legal medical marijuana! To do this, all you need to do is find your local medical marijuana Maryland dispensary.
Remember that for each rolling 30-day period you can purchase up to 120-grams (that’s about 4-ounces) of dried cannabis flower per visit.
Or you can purchase up to 36-grams (or slightly over 1 ounce) of THC-infused product such as concentrates or edibles during a rolling 30-day period. However, you can’t legally purchase more than the combined equivalent of 120-grams of flower or 36-grams of THC during that time. [source]
Remember that in the state of Maryland only medical use of marijuana is legalized. Recreational cannabis is still illegal.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Caregivers
Who is a Caregiver?
A caregiver is an adult who is at least 21 and is registered with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. A caregiver is authorized by Maryland law to purchase medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary on behalf of their designated patient(s) and transport it to them. Caregivers are required to possess a valid MMCC Caregiver ID card.
Can I have multiple caregivers?
As a Maryland patient you are permitted to have a maximum of 2 caregivers at one time.
A minor patient is required to have at least one caregiver at all times and only parents (or legal guardians) are eligible to be their caregivers.
How can I join the RISE Maryland Medical Marijuana community?
Once you have your Maryland Medical card, joining RISE Maryland’s medical marijuana community is easy! Simply visit your local RISE dispensary with your new Maryland medical cannabis card, and any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff members will be happy to help you.
Want to know more about the best strain for your condition? What about the best strain to help you get to sleep? At RISE, we can help you find the answers to all your cannabis questions. (Just remember to present your valid MMCC ID card when you visit a Maryland marijuana dispensary.) Well-being awaits!
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Functional cookies help to perform certain functionalities like sharing the content of the website on social media platforms, collect feedbacks, and other third-party features.
Performance cookies are used to understand and analyze the key performance indexes of the website which helps in delivering a better user experience for the visitors.
Analytical cookies are used to understand how visitors interact with the website. These cookies help provide information on metrics the number of visitors, bounce rate, traffic source, etc.
Advertisement cookies are used to provide visitors with relevant ads and marketing campaigns. These cookies track visitors across websites and collect information to provide customized ads.
Other uncategorized cookies are those that are being analyzed and have not been classified into a category as yet.
Select your state and preferred dispensary to shop .