We're glad you found
Before we let you in ...
Are you over 21 years old*?
*For Pennsylvania, New York, Maryland and Minnesota you must be 18+Yes No
Wish We Could
Let You In
Please come back and visit when you are old enough!
Connecticut has had a medical marijuana program since 2012. Want to learn more about the state’s program, medical marijuana laws and how to obtain your own medical card? Read on and we’ll guide you through the essential info.
Connecticut residents with qualifying health conditions are eligible to receive medical marijuana certificates. Once obtaining their medical cards, patients can visit licensed CT dispensaries and purchase up to 3 ounces of medical cannabis a month.
If you’re a Connecticut resident and believe you have a qualifying condition, you’re eligible to apply for a CT medical marijuana card. After successfully following the steps, you will then be eligible to visit a licensed medical marijuana dispensary and purchase medicinal cannabis.
Your first step in getting an MMJ card is to visit a Connecticut licensed physician or advanced practice registered nurse (RN) to be evaluated. The provider will assess whether you have a qualifying medical condition. Once a physician approves you for the program, you can complete the online application and submit the application fee.
The qualifying physician you visit in Connecticut to determine if you’re eligible for a medical marijuana registration certificate will ask you for a valid email address and a primary phone number. Connecticut requires you to have a primary email address because it’s the main way the state Department of Consumer Protection will communicate with you.
When you fill out your online registration, you’ll be asked to pay a $100 registration fee. You’ll also be asked to provide proof of identity and proof of state residency. Examples of documents you can use for Proof of Identity are as follows:
To prove you’re a Connecticut resident, you need to provide an additional document that shows your name and Connecticut address. These documents must be dated within 90 days of your application and be computer-generated, not typed or hand-written. The following documents are acceptable for Connecticut medical marijuana card proof of residency:
Getting a qualified patient application can take up to 30 business days. When your application is approved, the program will email your medical marijuana registration certificate. The state requests that applicants contact them if they don’t receive the medical marijuana certificate within 30 business days after they apply and pay the fee.
Medical marijuana cards have a $100 fee and are good for one year after you’ve been approved.
As of late 2021, these are Connecticut’s qualifying medical conditions for adults:
For individuals under age 18, these are the qualifying medical conditions in Connecticut:
No, you can’t go to a dispensary without a medical cannabis card in Connecticut. Only medical patients and authorized caregivers with valid cards can go into Connecticut dispensaries.
Medical marijuana cards in Connecticut are good for one year. Your qualifying physician needs to recertify that you are eligible, up to 30 days before the previous registration expires.
You can renew the card online through the Connecticut Medical Marijuana portal by providing a copy of your photo identification and proof that you still live in the state. To renew, you’ll need to update your personal information and pay the $100 registration fee. [Source]
Caregivers are individuals who are identified by certifying physicians or by qualified medical marijuana patients to manage the well-being of a registered patient in respect to their medicinal use of marijuana. Caregivers must meet the following requirements:
Caregivers can be responsible for only one patient unless they have a parent, guardian, sibling or conservator relationship with more than one qualifying patient.
You can only have one primary caregiver for medical marijuana in Connecticut.
The authorized primary caregiver can visit a licensed medical cannabis dispensary, purchase medical cannabis and deliver it to you.
With your medical marijuana registry certification, you can legally buy medical marijuana at a licensed dispensary in Connecticut.
Once you’re a qualified medical marijuana patient in Connecticut, you can join the RISE Connecticut Medical Marijuana community online.
Connecticut allows the sale of marijuana flower, cigarettes, extracts, sprays, tinctures, oils, topical products, transdermal patches, baked goods and capsules or pills. Patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana flower a month, with the option for up to 3 ounces with a physician’s recommendation. As of June 2021, cannabis edibles have a limit of 2,500 milligrams of THC in any single cannabis product.
Anxiety is not listed as one of the qualifying medical conditions for a medical card in Connecticut.
Medicaid does not cover medical marijuana.
No, you can’t go to a dispensary without a medical marijuana card in Connecticut.
Connecticut dispensaries do not take out-of-state medical cards.
Patients who live in Connecticut and are diagnosed by a qualifying physician as having one of the qualifying medical conditions are eligible to become medical cannabis patients.
Medical cannabis caregivers are people who are qualified, registered and authorized to purchase cannabis on the behalf of medical cannabis patients.
Connecticut is one of the states that protects the employment status of patients who are qualified under the Palliative Use of Marijuana Act (PUMA). The Act states “No employer may refuse to hire a person or may discharge, penalize, or threaten an employee solely on the basis of such person’s or employee’s status as a qualifying patient or primary caregiver.”
Yes, marijuana is legal for medical use in Connecticut.
You can complete your application for a Connecticut medical marijuana card online.
The state limits the purchase of medical marijuana to 3 ounces in a 30-day period.
Several states accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards, including Arkansas, Hawaii and New Hampshire. Not all states recognize the same qualifying conditions. Other states require out-of-state medical cardholders to apply for a card in their state to purchase medical cannabis at a dispensary.
Connecticut only registers one caregiver per patient.
Yes, veterans can get medical cannabis in Connecticut.
No. Connecticut only issues medical cards to residents.
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.
Select your state and preferred dispensary to shop .