Rhode Island Recreational Dispensary and Medical Cannabis 2022 FAQ
11.30.22 - 4 min read
We're glad you found
Before we let you in ...
Are you over 21 years old*?
*For Pennsylvania, New York, Maryland and Minnesota you must be 18+Yes No
Wish We Could
Let You In
Please come back and visit when you are old enough!
December 1, 2022 ONLY
Medical & Adult Use 6AM – 10PM
Starting on December 2, 2022:
Medical & Adult Use 8AM – 10PM 7 days/week
There are two ways to pay. We accept CASH payment and have ATMs available at our dispensaries. The ATM fee is $2.50. We also accept debit cards.
Yes. Both medical and recreational cannabis are now legal in Rhode Island. In May 2022, Rhode Island Governor Dan McKee signed into law the Rhode Island Cannabis Act legalized the sale of marijuana for adult, non-medical use. Recreational marijuana is may be sold to non-patients who 21 years or older in Rhode Island beginning December 1, 2022. The state uses the term “adult use cannabis” to mean marijuana purchased at a licensed store or dispensary. Possession and use of marijuana obtained outside of a licensed store is decriminalized. This means the use or possession of adults over the age of 21 (excluding patients) of up to 1 ounce of marijuana, and possession of up to 10 ounces of marijuana within one’s primary residence, no longer has any criminal or civil consequences in the state of Rhode Island.
The sale limit for patients will remain at 2.5 ounces every fifteen days.
Adult Use Limit
Where can I order Rhode Island cannabis online?
RISE’s return policy allows individuals to return unopened products for a refund or exchange for any reason if the individual has not left the store. For products that have been taken out of the store, if the product is accompanied by a receipt showing that the product was purchased within the past 14 days, returns may be allowed if a mistake was made by the cashier and the product is unopened or if the product is defective.
Yes, you may cancel your order, please call or speak to our PCS.
We do not offer delivery at this time but plan to in the near future.
No, unless a registered medical patient who has a caregiver with them.
Service animals are welcome.
Our dispensary roots are in supporting the well-being of our medical patients.
Visit https://risecannabis.com/resources/getting-a-medical-card/rhode-island/ for information about how to get a medical card in Rhode Island. You can also visit the RISE Dispensary in Rhode Island and our personal care specialists will be happy to answer your questions and help you find the right information. To become a registered patient with the Medical Marijuana Program (MMP), you must:
Once approved, the Department of Health will contact the applying patient via telephone or e-mail to schedule an appointment to obtain a photo identification card.
For complete information and requirements on these items please visit https://health.ri.gov/publications/bytopic.php?parm=Medical%20Marijuana
Please bring your valid RI Medical Marijuana Card, state-issued ID, and cash or a debit card. All our stores have ATMs available on-site. If you have questions, we provide consultations in person.
You can call the RISE Dispensary at the phone number provided and ask to speak to a personal care specialist for assistance. We are happy to answer any questions you may have.
You simply need to provide your Caregiver Medical Marijuana Program ID card and state issued ID when ordering on risecannabis.com or in-person. For complete details on how to register and become a Caregiver, click here: https://health.ri.gov/healthcare/medicalmarijuana/for/patients/
Yes, curbside pickup is an option for medical patients who prefer not to enter the dispensary. Call or email us if you have any questions, or to arrange a pickup.
The short answer is “yes,” but the rules regarding out-of-state medical marijuana cards in Rhode Island were modified in the adult use legislation and, beginning on or after March 1, 2023, patients with out-of-state medical marijuana cards will be required to also produce a valid government issued identification demonstrating residency in the same jurisdiction that issued the medical marijuana card.
No. Unfortunately, health insurance does not yet pay for medical marijuana.
Yes. You do need a medical cannabis card to buy legal marijuana in Rhode Island. The card is provided by the State of Rhode Island Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program.
Yes. They can certify qualified patients for registration in Rhode Island’s Medical Marijuana Program (MMP).
Although marijuana is decriminalized in Rhode Island, you cannot smoke it anywhere you wish. You can legally use cannabis on your own property or in the privacy of your own home.
According to the state of Rhode Island, you specifically cannot smoke marijuana “in any public place that prohibits the smoking or vaporizing of tobacco products as well as any place that prohibits the smoking or vaporizing of cannabis including by rule, regulation, or by local ordinance.”
You can contact a licensed Rhode Island physician to inquire if they provide medical marijuana certifications for eligible patients. For additional information please visit: https://health.ri.gov/healthcare/medicalmarijuana/for/patients/
If you need assistance, we are always here to help. Contact our Personal Care Specialists by using our contact form or calling the nearest RISE dispensary directly. We are always happy to help with the process and answer any questions you may have.
According to the state of Rhode Island, medical patient may purchase up to 2.5 ounces every 15 days and may possess the same amount. Within one’s primary residence, a medical marijuana patient or any individual 21 years or older may possess up to 10 ounces of marijuana.
No, according to CDC guidelines, guests are not required to wear a mask when entering the location at this time.
Rise Dispensaries in Rhode Island offer medical marijuana products like:
Yes, for medical patients only.
Orders can be placed at any time, but pickups are only available during business hours of 8:00am to 10:00pm.
We offer consultations inside the store at any time, just come inside and tell one of our Personal Care Specialists that you would like some assistance.
Curious about adult-use cannabis? We’re here to help!
Warwick: (401) 889-3990
Starting December 1, 2022, customers 21 and over will be able to purchase adult-use marijuana at our RISE Warwick location.
You must be at least 21 years old. You must have a valid US government-issued state ID with you.
We expect longer lines than usual, but we’re committed to ensure an easy and enjoyable experience for our guests. We will have separate check-out lines for medical patients to ensure they have full access to the medicine they need once the recreational market opens.
At this time, the State has not indicated any changes.
Select your state and preferred dispensary to shop .