Rise dispensaries logo.

We're glad you found
Rise Dispensaries!

Before we let you in ...

Are you over 21 years old*?

*For Pennsylvania, New York, Maryland and Minnesota you must be 18+

Yes No

By clicking “YES” and entering the website, I agree to be bound by the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Wish We Could
Let You In

Please come back and visit when you are old enough!

Blog

Connecticut Recreational and Medical Cannabis FAQ

01.09.23 - 4 min read

MEDICAL & ADULT USE


Hours

January 10, 2023 ONLY

Med ONLY: 9AM – 10AM

Med/Adult Use: 10AM – 8PM

Starting January 11, 2023:

MED/Adult Use: Mon to Sat 9 am to 8pm

MED/Adult Use: Sunday 9 am to 6pm

Are there special hours for medical patients?

RISE Dispensary (Branford) location is offering a designated hour, 9AM – 10AM on January 10.


Parking

RISE Branford

Parking – Reserved for medical patients only

Medical-only parking spots are in blue. Adult Use Parking is in red.


Payment

There are two ways to pay. We accept CASH payment and have ATMs available at our dispensaries. The ATM fee is $2.00. We also accept debit cards.

Are there other Dispensaries in Connecticut?

Yes, there are two dispensaries in Connecticut. RISE Branford is available to both medical patients and adult-use customers

Bluepoint Westport – Currently only available to medical patients


Legalization & Limits

Yes. Both medical and recreational cannabis are now legal in Connecticut. In June 2021, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont signed S.B. 1201 that legalized and decriminalized marijuana for adult, non-medical use.

Recreational marijuana is legal for adult use in Connecticut as of July 1, 2021. The state uses the term “cannabis” to mean marijuana purchased at a licensed store or dispensary.

Possession and use of marijuana obtained outside of a licensed store is decriminalized. This means the possession of up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana, and up to five ounces in a locked trunk or secure location within one’s home, no longer has any criminal or civil consequences in the state of Connecticut.

Medical Limit

According to CT marijuana law, we are required to follow the state mandate which states that medical cannabis patients may purchase a maximum of 3.5 ounces per month and a maximum of 2.5 ounces per transaction.

Adult Use Limit

“The adult-use state regulated daily purchase limit is 1 ounce of flower or its equivalent and is subject to change or due to store inventory. Please ask a RISE team member for guidance.”

  • up to one ounce of cannabis;
  • or up to five grams of cannabis concentrate,
  • or some combination thereof, not to exceed one ounce, or the equivalent, of usable cannabis as a cannabis-infused product in solid, liquid, or concentrate form

NOTE: Purchase amounts subject to change based on availability


Ordering

Where can I order Connecticut cannabis online?

Visit risecannabis.com to locate a RISE dispensary and view our menu of award-winning cannabis products.


Return Policy

Only valid on non-functioning cartridges. Return must be completed within the last 14 days or else DOH will not allow the exchange. Must be for the same exact product, and if we no longer have the product, you originally purchased, we can replace it with another cartridge in the same category. All returns are at the discretion of the manager.


Medical FAQs


How does Adult Use Cannabis sales affect medical patients?

Our RISE Branford dispensary roots are rooted in supporting the well-being of our medical patients.

We will always put our patients first. RISE BRANFORD offers all medical patients:

  • Pre-order available online 24/7
  • Separate line, ordering and check-out
  • Exclusive product inventory and availability
  • Designated parking available for medical patients
  • Home delivery for medical patients

How do I get a medical marijuana card in Connecticut and become a patient?

Visit www.risecannabis.com for information about how to get a medical card in Connecticut. You can also visit any RISE Dispensary in Connecticut and our patient care specialists will be happy to answer your questions and help you find the right information.
To become a registered patient with the Medical Marijuana Program (MMP), you must:

  • Be a Connecticut resident.
  • Be diagnosed by a Connecticut-licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse as having a qualifying debilitating medical condition. The medical provider must submit their certification of diagnosis to the state.
  • If the patient is under the age of 18, the parent(s) or guardian must identify two physicians that will confirm that the palliative use of marijuana is in the minor patient’s best interests.
  • To learn what qualifies, click here: vault.netvoyage.com/neWeb2/recent/documents/all
  • Complete Patient registration at https://biznet.ct.gov/AccountMaint/Login.aspx . You will need:
    • Government-issued ID
    • Proof of Connecticut residency
    • Payment

For complete information and requirements on these items please visit vault.netvoyage.com/neWeb2/recent/documents/all


If this is my first time to this RISE Branford store, what do I need to do?

Please bring your valid CT Medical Marijuana Card, state-issued ID, and cash or a debit card. All our stores have ATMs available on-site. If you have questions, we provide consultations in person.


What do I do if I need help and want to speak with a live person?

You can call a RISE Dispensary at the phone number provided and ask to speak to a personal care specialist for assistance. We are happy to answer any questions you may have.


How does a caregiver purchase a product for a medical patient?

You simply need to provide your and state issued ID when ordering on www.risecannabis.com or in-person. For complete details on how to register and become a Caregiver, click here: https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Primary-Caregivers—Registration-Process


Does RISE Branford, CT Dispensary offer curbside pickup?

Yes, curbside pickup is an option for medical patients who prefer not to enter the dispensary. Call or email us if you have any questions, or to arrange a pickup


Does CT accept out-of-state MMJ cards?

No, Connecticut does not accept out-of-state MMJ cards.


Does insurance pay for medical Marijuana?

No. Unfortunately, health insurance does not yet pay for medical marijuana.


Do I need a medical card to purchase medical marijuana in CT?

Yes. You do need a medical cannabis certification to buy legal marijuana in Connecticut. The certification is provided by the State of Connecticut Medicinal Marijuana Program. Before you start the process of getting a medical certification in Connecticut, you need to visit a Connecticut-licensed physician, physician’s assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse, be diagnosed with a qualifying condition, and have the medical professional send their certification to the state for your qualifying condition.


Do I need a prescription from a physician?

A Connecticut-licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse may certify patients for participation in Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program. 

To get a certification, you must be diagnosed by a qualified medical professional. You also need to be a Connecticut resident, and to have been diagnosed with a qualifying health condition. Qualifying conditions for patients over 18 years old include:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Positive Status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus or Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Damage to the Nervous Tissue of the Spinal Cord with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
  • Epilepsy
  • Cachexia
  • Wasting Syndrome
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Sickle Cell Disease
  • Post Laminectomy Syndrome with Chronic Radiculopathy
  • Severe Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome, Type 1 and Type II
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
  • Terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care
  • Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder
  • Spasticity or Neuropathic Pain Associated with Fibromyalgia
  • Severe Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Post Herpetic Neuralgia
  • Hydrocephalus with Intractable Headache
  • Intractable Headache Syndromes
  • Neuropathic Facial Pain
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Osteogenesis Imperfecta
  • Chronic Neuropathic Pain Associated with Degenerative Spinal Disorders (Effective 2018)*
  • Interstitial Cystitis
  • MALS Syndrome (Median Arcuate Ligament Syndrome)
  • Vulvodynia and Vulvar Burning
  • Intractable Neuropathic Pain that Is Unresponsive to Standard Medical Treatments
  • Tourette Syndrome
  • Chronic Pain of at least 6 months duration associated with a specified underlying chronic condition refractory to other treatment intervention
  • Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome Associated with Chronic Pain
  • Chronic Pancreatitis
  • Movement disorders associated with Huntington Disease

Qualifying conditions for patients under 18 years old include:

  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
  • Severe Epilepsy
  • Terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care
  • Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Osteogenesis Imperfecta
  • Intractable Neuropathic Pain that Is Unresponsive to Standard Medical Treatments
  • Tourette Syndrome for patients who have failed standard medical treatment
  • Chronic Pancreatitis for patients whose pain is recalcitrant to standard medical management

Is it safe to consume marijuana in Connecticut? Where can I legally use cannabis?

Although marijuana is decriminalized in Connecticut, you cannot smoke it anywhere you wish. While each town/city may have its own rules and restrictions on where cannabis can be consumed, and we recommend you check with the municipality prior to consuming cannabis, generally you can legally use cannabis on your own property, or in the privacy of your own home (note: landlords may prohibit smoking and vaping within the interior of a rented residence). Further, cannabis use will be prohibited in state parks and on state beaches and waters and is generally prohibited in moving vehicles, school premises and playgrounds, hotels, Department of Corrections facilities, halfway houses, and in workplaces.


Can someone help me get medical marijuana?

You can contact a Connecticut-licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice nurse practitioner in order to obtain a medical marijuana certification. Once a medical provider certifies that you qualify as a medical marijuana patient, you can complete the patient registration process at https://biznet.ct.gov/AccountMaint/Login.aspx

If you need assistance, we are always here to help. Contact our Patient Care Specialists by using phone numbers or e-mail addresses available here: contact us. We are always happy to help with the process and answer any questions you may have.


How much medical marijuana can I buy and possess?

According to the state of Connecticut, the medical patient limit, unless modified by the prescribing medical professional, is 3.5 ounces or its equivalent per month. Patients are also limited to purchasing 2.5 ounces per transaction For additional information, see the CT Department of Consumer Protection’s FAQs on its website here:  https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Medical-Marijuana-Program/Qualifying-Patient-FAQs


Do I need to wear a mask or face covering when entering a RISE Connecticut Dispensary?

No, according to CDC guidelines, guests are not required to wear a mask when entering the location at this time.


What cannabis product can I buy in CT?

RISE Branford in Connecticut offer medical marijuana products like:

  • Edibles
  • Extract
  • Pre-rolls
  • Flower
  • Tinctures
  • Topicals
  • Vapes
  • Marijuana gear

Does this dispensary provide curbside pickup?

No, RISE Branford currently does not offer curbside pick up.


Are there any changes to the Rewards program regarding point accruals and offers?

No – there are no changes to the current rewards program. You will still earn a point for every dollar spent ($1 spent = 1 point earned) and have great deals sent straight to your phone and email inbox. At checkout, just let our team know you are a Rewards member and we will take care of the rest! To learn more please visit: RISE rewards


Can I use my Rewards points at any Connecticut RISE dispensary?

Absolutely! Points earned during a transaction at a Connecticut RISE dispensary can be used at either location. At checkout, just let our team know you are a Rewards member and we will confirm how many points you have and if you want to use them on the current transaction.


Adult Use FAQs

Curious about adult-use cannabis? We’re here to help!

Branford: (203) 488-1388


If I’m new to cannabis, what do I need to know to make a purchase?

  • Adult-use sales starts on January 10, 2023 at our RISE location.
  • Purchase limits and tax details are outlined and provided by the state
  • Bring government-issued ID
  • ATMs are available on-site and debit cards payment are also accepted
  • Join RISE Rewards to earn points and receive special offers
  • Delivery and pre-orders is currently only available for medical-patients
  • Visit our website and explore our menu at  https://risecannabis.com/
  • Our retail team and cannabis experts are here to provide a positive experience
  • Online ordering will be available but limited based on inventory and volume availability

More specific details are outlined below


When and where will I be able to buy adult-use cannabis in Connecticut?

Starting January 10, 2023 customers 21 and over will be able to purchase adult-use marijuana at our RISE Branford location.


How old do l need to be to purchase adult-use cannabis? What forms of ID are acceptable to enter a RISE location and purchase cannabis product?

You must be at least 21 years old. You must have a valid US government-issued state ID with you – US state driver’s license, CT ID Card from the CT Department of Motor Vehicles, or a valid passport.


How much is the adult-use cannabis tax in Branford, Connecticut?

RISE Branford

6.35% State Sales Tax

3% City/Town Cannabis Tax

An additional tax based on THC content will cost 10-15% of the sale price

For more information regarding specific taxes, please refer to https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/Knowledge-Base/Articles/Cannabis-taxes?language=en_US


Will there be long lines at the dispensaries once adult-use cannabis is for sale to anyone 21 and older? 

We expect longer lines than usual, but we’re committed to ensure an easy and enjoyable experience for our guests. We will have separate check-out lines for medical patients to ensure they have full access to the medicine they need once the recreational market opens.


Are there any rule changes for acquiring a medical card? 

At this time, the State has not indicated any changes.

For any additional questions, please go to https://portal.ct.gov/cannabis/?language=en_US


Does RISE Branford deliver?

Store will continue to offer delivery to medical patients. Starting 1/10, med deliveries will be on available on Tuesday, Saturday, and Sunday


Am I able to order Marijuana products ahead of time?

Yes- medical and adult-use customers can pre-order online through the website


How do I pay?

We accept cash, debit cards and have ATMs available on site at all our dispensaries.


Can I cancel/adjust my order?

You can call the RISE Dispensary at the phone number provided and ask to speak to a personal care specialist for assistance. We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Also, our patient care specialists in-store can adjust your order at the time of purchase.


Are Service Animals allowed in the store?

GTI welcomes the presence of service animals assisting people with disabilities.


How much recreational marijuana can I buy in Connecticut?

Connecticut currently has a limit of ¼ oz of cannabis flower or its equivalent per transaction. This means that per transaction, you can purchase up to ¼ oz of cannabis.

This means, for the time being, you may purchase:

  • Up to ¼ oz of flower; or
  • Up to 7 pre-rolled cigarettes that weigh 1 gram each; or
  • Up to 14 pre-rolled cigarettes that weigh 0.5 grams each; or
  • Two to four vape cartridges, which come in .5 mL and 1 mL sizes; or
  • Edibles not exceeding a total of ¼ oz equivalency of cannabis flower.

Select your state and preferred dispensary to shop .